July 25, 2024

The hub for business connections.

Everyone a winner at Sappi Safety Awards

2 min read

ALTHOUGH there were 18 awards presented at the 2022 Sappi Southern Africa (SSA) Safety Excellence Awards, in reality, these award winners represent the thousands of people who return home safely to their loved ones and families every day from a Sappi site.

“These awards are among the most prized accolades in our company,” said SSA CEO Alex Thiel. “It is with deep recognition and respect that we present the awards to these individuals and teams in honour of the rigour shown in staying vigilant, keeping an eye out for others, identifying hazards and having the courage to challenge any unsafe acts or conditions. They are prime examples for all of us to follow.”

The two safest business units that were singled out as overall winners, were the Sappi Stanger Mill in the manufacturing category and Sappi Forests Zululand in the forestry category. For both these business units, it is their second year running that they have won.

The awards are held annually to celebrate the achievements by employees and contractors who are nominated for their consistent and uncompromising commitment and dedication to Sappi’s zero-injury approach to safety, keeping everyone in their scope of influence safe and protected throughout the year.

Individuals that were singled out were: Kendy Kambarami, Ngodwana Mill; Rendani Madula, Tech Centre; Roshan Maharajh, Stanger Mill; Ncamisile Mdadane, Saiccor Mill; Elvis Bandhla, Somusa Forestry Mpumalanga; Karen Mattheus, Lomati Mill; Danie Rossouw, Sappi Rosebank; Nyasha Zimbodza, Sappi Forests Zululand; Rama Reddy, Goldfields Sappi Tugela Mill; Nelisiwe Ngwenya, Mhlambanyathi Forestry Mpumalanga; Gideon Mkhabela, Ngodwana Mill and Sbahle Dlamini, Sappi Forests KZN

Contractors that excelled were IPSS Contractors at Ngodwana Mill, Mhlambanyathi Forestry in Mpumalanga, Waybar Construction at Saiccor Mill and Farmusa Agric & Forestry Contractors in KwaZulu-Natal.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Copyright © All rights reserved. | Newsphere by AF themes.